The Richter TrophyThe 9th annual Institute for Supply Management – Michigan State University Awards for Excellence in Supply Management were presented at ISM’s annual conference in Las Vegas, NV, on May 5, 2014. These highly-regarded, prestigious practitioner awards were created to recognize excellence, leadership and innovation in supply management and to further the understanding and importance of supply management in business success.

The applications for the awards underwent a multiple review process. Doctors Frayer, Melnyk, and Ragatz were among the evaluators, while Professors Narasimhan and Sandor served on the oversight committee which sets policy and selects award winners from a list of finalists.

This year’s winning firms were Clorox, Goodyear, and Intel.

Clorox was recognized for dramatically expanded supplier-driven innovation. Goodyear’s award was given for its direct materials optimization project which trained 85 supply managers in robust new processes and tools focused on supplier collaboration and materials qualifications. Intel’s award showcased the dramatic improvements made to its order fulfillment processes, led by the procurement organization of hubs in Malaysia, Costa Rica, and Israel that uncovered millions in spend savings while increasing customer satisfaction.