Eight of the 17 students designated as Undergraduate Research Fellows in the Broad College of Business in October are enrolled in the School of Hospitality Business.

The students receive a $1,000 stipend for the academic year, and will work on an individualized research project with a faculty member during that time. On April 10, 2015, the students will present their work at the annual University Undergraduate Research & Arts Forum (UURAF 2015) at the MSU Union. This event provides an opportunity for students involved in research and creative activities at Michigan State to share their work with their peers, faculty, and external audiences.

Last year, one of the School’s Undergraduate Research Fellows, Jiyeun Kim (BA Hospitality Business ’14), earned First Place among all the presentations with her project on “Employee Delight in Hospitality Business.” She worked all year on her research with School assistant professor Dr. MiRan Kim.

Following is a list of the 2014-2015 Undergraduate Research Fellows and their mentor professors from the School:

Undergraduate Research Fellow – Professor

Ryan Hemingsen – MiRan Kim

Qi Huang – SeungHyun (James) Kim

Allison Kubek – JaeMin Cha

Emily Mielke – Seung Hyun (James) Kim

Madeline Pappas – MiRan Kim

Natalie Rybak – JaeMin Cha

Sarah Shulman – Carl Borchgrevink

Alana Wolf – Lu Zhang

“The Undergraduate Research Fellows program has been a great asset to the students who participate,” says Dr. Carl Borchgrevink. “They learn to conduct a meaningful project over a long span of time and present their work in a professional way. But we professors get just as much out of it – their enthusiasm and curiosity are infectious.”

Dr. SeungHyun (James) Kim agrees. “This is why we continue to mentor these bright students year after year.”

The Undergraduate Research Fellows program is administered in the Broad College of Business by Dr. Amy Radford-Popp, assistant director, Residential Business Program and Undergraduate Academic Services.