Alumni Association's Honorary Alumni of the Year Honorees

(presented in Chicago, Illinois)

2020 – Nomination postponed.

2019 – Nomination postponed.

2018 Honorary Alumnus of the Year

Jerome F. "Jerry" Cataldo President & Chief Executive Officer, Hostmark Hospitality Group

2017 Honorary Alumnus of the Year

Patrick Donelly General Manager, Hyatt Regency Chicago

2016 Honorary Alumnus of the Year

Grant DePorter
President & Owner, Harry Caray's Restaurant Group

2015 Honorary Alumnus of the Year

Ron Vlasic, CHA Regional Vice President, Hotels, Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants

2014 Honorary Alumnus of the Year

Hasmukh P. (H.P) Rama Chairman of the Board/Chief Executive Officer, JHM Hotels

2013 Honorary Alumnus of the Year

Randy Smith
Chairman & Co-Founder, Smith Travel Research (STR) Global

2012 Honorary Alumnus of the Year

Michael C. Gibbons President, Mainstreet Ventures

2011 Honorary Alumni of the Year

Andrew J.C. Cherng
Founder and Chairman
Panda Restaurant Group, Inc.
Peggy Tsiang Cherng
Co-Chair
Panda Restaurant Group, Inc.

2010 Honorary Alumnus of the Year

James W. Chamberlain Senior Vice President & General Manager – Institutional Foodservice, Ecolab, Inc.

2009 Honorary Alumnus of the Year

Dan Gordon
Chief Executive Officer, Gordon Food Service, Inc.

2008 Honorary Alumnus of the Year

Robert J. Habeeb President and Chief Operating Officer, First Hospitality Group

2007 Honorary Alumnus of the Year

Harvey Alpert President, Harvey Alpert & Company/Oakfield Farms, Inc

2006 Honorary Alumnus of the Year

Richard Melman Founder and Chairman, Lettuce Entertain You Enterprises, Inc

2005 Honorary Alumnus of the Year

Anthony (Tony) G. Marshall, JD, CHA, CHE President, The American Hotel & Lodging Association's Educational Institute

2004 Honorary Alumnus of the Year

Robert H. Nelson, CEC, CCE, CFBE, AAC Dr. Lewis J. and Mrs. Ruth E. Minor *Chef de Cuisine The* School of Hospitality Business at Michigan State University

2003 Honorary Alumnus of the Year

Michael L. Minor Retired Vice President, Nestlé Food Services

2002 Honorary Alumnus of the Year

Donald I. Smith
Former Director, School of Hotel, Restaurant Institutional Management
Michigan State University

2001 Honorary Alumni of the Year

William (Tiny) Zehnder, Jr.
Chairman of the Board
Frankenmuth Bavarian Inn Restaurant

Dorothy Zehnder
Kitchen Manager
Frankenmuth Bayarian Inn Restaurant

2000 Honorary Alumnus of the Year

Richard M. Geerdes
President and Chief Executive Officer, National Automatic Merchandising Association

1999 Honorary Alumna of the Year

Theda L. Rudd President & Owner, David Rudd Enterprises

1998 Honorary Alumni of the Year

Fred Elias Louis Elias Founder Founder

Elias Brothers Restaurants, Inc. Elias Brothers Restaurants, Inc.

1997 Honorary Alumnus of the Year

Herman Cain
President and Chief Executive Officer, National Restaurant Association

1996 Honorary Alumnus of the Year

John H. King, Jr.
President & Chief Operating Officer, HDS Services

1995 Honorary Alumnus of the Year

Michael D. Eisner Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Walt Disney Company

1994 Honorary Alumnus of the Year

Henri Landwirth Founder, "Give the Kids the World" Foundation

1993 Honorary Alumnus of the Year \$N/A\$

1992 Honorary Alumnus of the Year

Donald M. Coe President, Hiram Walker & Sons, Inc.

1991 Honorary Alumnus of the Year

Harris O. Machus Chair Emeritus, Harris O. Machus Enterprises, Inc.

1990 Honorary Alumnus of the Year

Michel Roux President & Chief Executive Officer, Carillon Importers, Ltd.

1989 Honorary Alumnus of the Year

John R. Farquharson President, ARASERVE

1988 Honorary Alumnus of the Year

Stephen Rushmore President, Hospitality Valuation Services, Inc.