

The School of Hospitality Business Broad College of Business

Alumni Association Lifetime Academic Achievement Award Honorees

2020 – Nomination postponed.

2019 – Nomination postponed.

2018 Honoree

Dr. Margaret "Mokie" Steiskal (BA '70) *Chairperson Emeritus* Columbus State Community College

2017 Honoree

Dr. Frank Romanelli, CHA (BA '58) Retired Professor/Director Hospitality Management, Tiffin University

2016 Honoree

Dr. Polly Buchanan (MS '80) Associate Professor Emeritus, Hotel & Restaurant Management Eastern Michigan University

2015 Honoree

Dr. Sara Clemen Parks (MBA '70) Professor Emerita School of Hospitality Management, Pennsylvania State University

2014 Honoree

Dr. Bonnie Knutson Professor, *The* School of Hospitality Business, Michigan State University

2013 Honoree

Raymond S. Schmidgall (MBA '69, Ph.D. '80) Hilton Hotel Professor of Hospitality Financial Management *The* School of Hospitality Business, Michigan State University

2012 Honorees

Dr. Reginald F. Foucar-Szocki (BA '77) Professor, The School of Hospitality, Sport, and Recreation Management, James Madison University

Professor Robert B. Zemke (MBA '66) Professor Emeritus, Culinary Studies Institute Oakland Community College

2011 Honorees

Dr. Andy Divine (BA '60) Professor Emeritus, Hotel, Restaurant & Tourism Management, University of Denver

Professor George T. Alley (BA '59) Retired Director, School of Food, Hotel & Resort Management, Professor of Management, Rochester Institute of Technology

2010 Honorees

Dr. Frank D. Borsenik (BS '55, MS '58, Ph.D. '64) Retired Professor Emeritus, Harrah College of Hotel Administration University of Nevada – Las Vegas

> William E. Spaulding (BA '68) Professor, Northwood University

2009 Honorees

John A. Drysdale, MS, FMP (BA '63) Professor Emeritus, Hospitality Management Department Johnson County Community College

Dr. Michael D. Olsen (BA '67, MBA '73) Professor Emeritus, Hospitality & Tourism Management Pamplin College of Business, Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University

2008 Honoree

Dr. Terry Umbreit (BA '63) Director & Taco Bell Distinguished Professor School of Hospitality Business Management, Washington State University

Criteria for selection includes the following:

- The award reflects lifetime academic accomplishments, rather than simply educator of the year. The annual award is entitled The School of Hospitality Business Alumni Association Lifetime Academic Achievement Award.
- A minimum of ten years teaching and/or administrative experience in a post-secondary hospitality program.
- Must be a graduate of MSU with preference for graduates of The School of Hospitality Business (HRIM), although others could be considered.
- The recipient should be an accomplished leader with an external organization in the industry or academia (such as I-CHRIE).
- The recipient should have received some form of recognition from at least one outside organization or special recognition from their program.
- Able to attend award ceremony presentation to be made at MSU Homecoming.