The Broad College will hold its first-ever investiture ceremony Friday, September 23, 2016, honoring the faculty members who have been selected for endowed chairs and professorships, as well as the donors who made these positions possible.

“These endowed faculty positions are crucial in recruiting and retaining scholars who lead their fields, creating the dynamic, collaborative environment that we are known for and preparing our students to make business happen in an ever-changing world,” said Dean Sanjay Gupta. “We are so thankful for our donors who support faculty innovation and excellence for years to come through these endowments.”

The faculty recipients were selected by the college review committee based on the quality of their teaching, their service contributions to the college, and their research. These faculty are:

The Frederick S. Addy Distinguished Chair in Finance, created by Fred and Marilyn Addy in 1998, is awarded to Charles Hadlock, professor of finance. Hadlock received his PhD from MIT in 1994 and has taught in Florida, Illinois, Michigan, and Virginia.  He is a two-time winner of the prestigious Michael Brennan Award for the best paper in the Review of Financial Studies, is director of the doctoral program in finance, and a recipient of numerous teaching excellence awards.

The Ernest W. & Robert W. Schaberg Endowed Chair in Accounting was created by Bob and Anna Lou Schaberg to honor Bob’s father, Ernest in 2006. This honor goes to Ranjani Krishnan, professor of accounting at the Broad College since 1997. Krishnan received her MBA from the University of Pittsburgh in 1993 and her PhD in 1998.  She teaches management accounting and operational management at the MBA, Executive MBA and PhD program.  She is currently the editor of the Journal of Management Accounting Research.  Dr. Krishnan is the recipient of numerous research awards, and was recently awarded the Greatest Impact on Managerial Accounting Practice Award.

The Gambrel Family Endowed Professorship in Management, created by Al and Nancy Gambrel in 2015, goes to Donald Conlon, professor of management and the Chair of the Department of Management. In recent years, Conlon received best paper awards from the Academy of Management and the International Association for Conflict Management. He is past president of the International Association for Conflict Management, and past division chair for the Conflict Management Division of the Academy of Management.

The Eli Broad Professor of Management, created by Eli and Edythe Broad, is awarded to Gerry McNamara. McNamara has been with Broad for nearly 20 years a professor of management. He received his PhD from the University of Minnesota and was a member of the faculty at University of California, Riverside and University of Tennessee at Chattenooga. He is a member of the editorial board of the Academy of Management Journal and the Strategic Management Journal, was named “JMI Scholar of the Year” by the Western Academy of Management, and is co-author of the textbook Strategic Management: Creating Competitive Advantages.

Main Street Capital Partners Intellectual Capital Endowed Professor, created by Main Street Capital Partners and alum Vince Foster in 2012, is awarded to Brian Pentland, professor of information systems. Pentland received his PhD from MIT in 1991 and SB in Mechanical Engineering in 1981 is the recipient of MSU’s William J. Beal Outstanding Faculty Award, and the Broad College’s John D. and Dortha J. Withrow Teacher-Scholar Award. He is director of the doctoral program in business information systems, and winner of the Administrative Science Quarterly Scholarly Contribution Award.

The Russell E. Palmer Endowed Professor of Accounting was created by Russell Palmer in 1996 and goes to Karen Sedatole, professor of accounting. She has ranked no. 1 in managerial accounting over the past six years of publications in the latest Brigham Young University research rankings, is a two-time recipient of both the AAA Notable Contributions to Management Accounting Research Award and the AAA Management Accounting Section Impact on Management Accounting Practice Award. Sedatole is senior editor of the Journal of Management Accounting Research, and editor of Accounting Horizons.

The Plante Moran Faculty Fellow, created by Plante Moran, goes to Chris Hogan, professor of accounting and member of the Broad faculty for 10 years. She is president of the Auditing Section of the American Accounting Association (AAA), two-time winner of the Accounting Horizons Best Paper Award, and co-director of the doctoral program in accounting.

The United Shore Faculty Fellowship, created in 2015 by United Shore Financial Services and Mat Ishbia, its president and CEO, to enhance sales research and education.  This award goes to Douglas Hughes, associate professor of marketing and interim department chairperson. Hughes received his PhD from the University of Houston and his MBA from MSU.  He is the incoming editor-in-chief of the Journal of Personal Selling and Sales Management, leader of the Strategic Sales Initiative, and former senior executive in marketing and sales at Fortune 100/500 consumer packaged goods firms.


Endowed faculty 2016